Fusion: Problem Solving

Following on from my last post about the  bug in Blackmagic Fusion when importing PSD files I have researched and found a couple of potential solutions.

https://forum.blackmagicdesign.com/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=32722

Using this forum I learnt that a solution might be “You need to export in compatibility mode, and make sure there are no layer controls”.

I read this help guide on Adobe’s website about File Formats and maximizing compatibility for PSD and PSB files:

https://helpx.adobe.com/photoshop/using/file-formats.html

PHOTOSHOP - EXPORT LAYERS TO FILES INTERFACE.jpg

PHOTOSHOP - EXPORT LAYERS TO FILES.png

PHOTOSHOP - EXPORT LAYERS TO FILES SUCCESSFUL.png

Above are screenshots of me exporting each layer in the PSD into separate files with maximized compatibility. This saves each layer in the PSD into a separate Photoshop image so you can then separately import them into Blackmagic Fusion. When imported into Fusion the colours are showing and you will be able to import each layer as a node and animate each independently.

In my last post I showed the flattened image when importing the PSD file into Fusion. Below is a screenshot of the layers showing colour in Fusion after I exported each layer as a separate file, selected them all and dragged them onto the flow graph.

PHOTOSHOP - LAYER FILES

Fusion selected node COLOUR

This is one solution I worked out to get the colour and correct properties of the Photoshop image file into Blackmagic Fusion.

Another solution I came across is a script that someone made which you can apply to Fusion 7. This Fusion user creates there own scripts for Fusion and posts them on his blog for people to use.

The hos_PSDLayers 1.4 script creates a loader for each layer in the Photoshop image file and then gives you the option to either merge them together or place each of the layers on an individual 3D image plane.

Link to PSD script:

http://www.svenneve.com/?p=896

Link to his explanation video of how to use the script:

I downloaded the script and copied it into the Fusion scripts folder in my program files but could not get it to work correctly.

Fusion: Problem Solving

Leave a comment